‘And Into the Woods’ – An Introduction 

I thought I’d share an introduction to the project I’m working on at the moment; which is called ‘And Into the Woods.’

 

LYRICAL ‘THEME’

 

And Into the Woods is a new 12 track album which focuses on the theme of living with depression.
When I first started writing these songs I was worried that the subject might be too personal, too indulgent. But then I thought about how difficult it can be for people (especially men) to admit that they are living with mental health issues. Which made me think perhaps if my music can in some small way help someone find some understanding it’s a worthwhile thing to do. Plus, I felt if I don’t write about my own experiences, I’d be lying to myself.

 

The subject is examined from many different angles, from the quirky to the honest, the thankful to the hopeless. All of it real. And hopefully all of it relatable.

 

Depression is a much misunderstood and far too prominent illness, and these songs are my own account of the effects it’s had on myself and others around me.

 

PROGRESS SO FAR
I’ve been working on the album since around October last year, and the basic guitar and vocal parts and some percussion is recorded so far.

 

MUSICAL THEME

 

Musically, I wanted to try and create a completely acoustic, intimate feel to the album, whilst maintaining a ‘rocking’ feel. I’ve been listening to ‘Tusk’ by Fleetwood Mac’ and early R.E.M. a lot recently, and that’s the kind of feel I was hoping to go for (though with my own character and ideas).
Obviously, with a full time job and a family, I don’t get much time to work on it, but it’s building up slowly and surely and I’m pretty happy with it so far (although of course I still get those typical songwriter bouts of panic some days that it’s all terrible and I’m wasting my time haha!).

 

I’m really enjoying working on this album, and I don’t know how long it will take, but I’m finding the process a lot of fun.

 

Thanks for reading and thanks for your support!

 

More updates soon!

2 thoughts on “‘And Into the Woods’ – An Introduction 

Leave a Reply

