Live Review: Nigel Stonier Album Launch 27.04.17

 

IMG_2267 (2)

Local songwriter Nigel Stonier is somewhat of a living legend.  Not only has he produced countless albums for artists as notable as Fairport Convention, Lindisfarne, Sandi Thom, Hannah White and the awesome Thea Gilmore (who also happens to be his wife), but he has also spent years fostering and supporting unsigned songwriters through projects like ‘The Words and Music Festival,’ which I’ve had the privilege to play a couple of times now.

IMG_2284
Me and Jon Tarplee catching the show.  Photo by friend and talented photographer Jonathan White.

So I was chuffed when my friend (and talented singer/songwriter) Jonathan Tarplee invited me to Nigel’s album launch at The Crown Ballroom in Nantwich.  Not only would this be the first time I’d got to see Nigel play live, the location had a particularly sentimental meaning to me as it was where I married my wife back in December of last year.  It’s such a gorgeous, classic and intimate ballroom, and helped the songs to resonate both literally and metaphorically throughout the concert.

Nigel played many of the songs from his new album ‘Love and Work,’ plus a few of his older songs, and even though I wasn’t familiar with many of the songs, I was as enraptured as the die-hard fans that filled the hall.  He also invited friends and family, (including Thea and his two talented young sons) to play on some songs; finishing with a crescendo of people and instruments that struggled to all fit on the small stage.

IMG_2268 (2)

I bought a copy of the new album and I’m looking forward to hearing it.  If it’s anything as good as the way he played them live at the Crown Ballroom, they should be a real treat.

 

Check out his new album ‘Love and Work’ Here: http://www.nigelstonier.com

 

Leave a Reply

