Happy Birthday Morrissey!

Happy Birthday to the king of contradictions; a man who manages to both inspire and frustrate me in almost equal measure – Mr. Steven Patrick Morrissey!

 

From the first time my mate Dan gave me a copy of ‘Bigmouth Strikes Again’ by The Smiths on a mixtape (remember those!) in French class at school in 1992, I’ve been hooked on the wonderfully eccentric, intimate, honest, brutal, painful and hilarious lyrics of this most complex of characters.

 

He sometimes makes it difficult to love him with some of the nonsense he comes out with, but I wouldn’t want him to be any different, and I never tire of his unique words and ideas.

 

I know he would hate to be wished happy birthday as he’s a miserable sod. But Happy Birthday anyway Morrissey, you one of a kind wonder!

 

To celebrate; here are my 20 of my favourite (in no particular order) Morrissey solo and The Smiths songs.  I hope you enjoy listening to them, and let me know your own personal favourites in the comments below!

 

 

1. Suedehead (Solo)

 

“You had to sneak into my room
Just to read my diary
It was just to see, just to see
All the things you knew I’d written about you…”

 

 

 

2. How Soon is Now? (The Smiths)

 

“I am the son,
And the heir, of a shyness that is criminally vulgar,
I am the son and heir,
Of nothing in particular”

 

 

3. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want (The Smiths)

 

“You see the life that I’ve had, could make a good man bad.”

 

 

4. What Difference Does It Make? (The Smiths)

 

“And your prejudice won’t keep you warm tonight.”

 

 

5. This Night had Opened My Eyes (The Smiths)

 

“This night has opened my eyes
And I will never sleep again
You kicked and cried like a bullied child
A grown man of twenty-five.”

 

 

6. Cemetery Gates (The Smiths)

 

“If you must write prose and poems
The words you use should be your own
Don’t plagiarise or take “on loans”
There’s always someone, somewhere
With a big nose, who knows
And who trips you up and laughs
When you fall
Who’ll trip you up and laugh
When you fall.”

 

 

7. Handsome Devil (The Smiths)

 

“Let me get my hands
on your mammary glands
and let me get your head
on the conjugal bed
I say, I say, I say.”

 

 

8. The Headmaster Ritual (The Smiths)

 

“Belligerent ghouls
Run Manchester schools
Spineless bastards all …”

 

 

9. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me (The Smiths)

 

“Last night I dreamt
That somebody loved me
No hope, no harm
Just another false alarm.”

 

 

10. Interlude (With Siouxsie Sioux – Cover of Georges Delerue and Hal Shaper song)

 

“Time is like a dream
And now, for a time, you are mine.”

 

 

11. Every Day Is Like Sunday (Solo)

 

“This is the coastal town
That they forgot to close down
Come, Armageddon! Come!”

 

 

12. This Charming Man (The Smiths)

 

“I would go out tonight
But I haven’t got a stitch to wear
This man said “it’s gruesome
That someone so handsome should care””

 

 

13. We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful (Solo)

 

“Oh, look at those clothes
Now look at that face, it’s so old
And such a video!
Well, it’s really laughable
Ha, ha, ha”

 

 

14. Tomorrow (Solo)

 

“Tomorrow
It’s surely nearer now?”

 

 

15. The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get (Solo)

 

“Beware!
I bear more grudges
Than lonely high court judges.”

 

 

16. Ask (The Smiths)

 

“Spending warm summer days indoors
Writing frightening verse
To a buck-toothed girl in Luxembourg .”

 

 

17. Shoplifters of the World Unite (The Smiths)

 

“My only weakness is a list of crime
My only weakness is…well, never mind, never mind.”

 

 

18. You Have Killed Me (Solo)

 

“You have killed me,
Yes I walk around somehow,
But you have killed me.”

 

 

19. Bigmouth Strikes Again (The Smiths)

 

“Sweetness, sweetness
I was only joking
When I said by rights
You should be bludgeoned in your bed.”

 

 

20. The Queen is Dead (The Smiths)

 

“So I broke into the Palace
With a sponge and a rusty spanner
She said: “Eh, I know you, and you cannot sing”
I said: “that’s nothing – you should hear me play piano””

 

 

 

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed that, and let me know your favourite Morrissey related songs below!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Morrissey!

  1. Have you heard ‘You are the Quarry’?
    I think it’s some of his best work.
    I think my favourite songs of his would have to include the really deeply moving/brilliant/provocative/funny ‘I have forgiven Jesus’ from the album I just mentioned and ‘Everyday is Like Sunday’, which just had to be written, I sing to myself a lot, especially on Sundays!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m ashamed to say I haven’t yet! I need to check out more of his solo week, only heard Vauxhall and I, Your Arsenal and the greatest hits. I’ve heard the singles from You are the Quarry and liked them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

