Tulpa Part 1: Tulpa Begins! First work on a new album in 2 years!

Tulpa Part 2: ‘Bass-is’ of the New Album Takes Shape!

Tulpa Part 3: ‘He Bangs the Drums’

Tulpa Part 4: ‘Singing for Our Supper!’

With being off work this month, I’ve had chance to really work hard on getting as much of the bare bones of my new album Tulpa down as possible. I’ve been lucky to utilise the talents so far of my musical friends on drums, bass and vocals.

But there was nowhere to hide today, as it was now MY turn to record my vocals for the album.

Production genius Glyn Sutton and I really ploughed through the tracks, creating in total SIXTY FOUR tracks of vocals over the space of our 4 hour session at his home studio – four lead and four backing tracks for each of the 8 songs. Glyn is such a relaxed and efficient producer that we soon managed it and we’ve hopefully produced what we need to portray the songs at their best.

I remember another producer I worked with once laughing at my suggestion that recording vocals was a little like ‘method acting,’ but I stand by the notion that in order to really convey the meanings of the lyrics, you have to try and put yourself in the ’emotional place’ you were in when you wrote them. So this is what I tried to do and hopefully what we achieved today…only time and mixing will tell!

I’m looking forward to hearing what magic Glyn waves over the tracks and how they will start to come together next.

‘Mood lighting’ for getting in the zone today!
Glyn even let me loose on the keys today!